Help! Ive been CG method for over 5 years and my hair just keeps getting worse!

angela.ovenangela.oven Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 1 Curl Neophyte
Hey! 
Ive been using the CG method for a few years now, and recently - id say the past 6 months especially - my hair has gotten quite dry, and tangling a lot easier then it used to. Ive been craving for soft bouncy curls and I cant seem to find anything that works. Ive tried cutting my hair, changing my products up, styling differently you name it! I even switched away from deva curl and tried Shea Moisture and that made my hair even worse! I cant even get my fingers to my scalp without feeling like my hair is going to rip out which has never happened! Ive started back with Deva Curl (holy grail product am i right??) But still, my hair is quite dry and just blah. Any tips on what im doing wrong or why my hair hasnt gotten any healthier in the past few years of cutting everything your supposed to out of your daily hair care??? 
Thanks so much! 
angela
Curl type: 3a
Low porosity
Medium density - dunno if thats right though
thickness - coarse, again don't know if this is right because I would categorize my hair has fine 

Answers

• SadNapsSadNaps Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 2 Curl Neophyte
    Have you been using the curly girl method and for the last 5 years it worked and out of nowhere it stopped working? 
  • Therese1Therese1 Registered Users Posts: 2,563 Curl Virtuoso
    Have you clarified with a sulfate shampoo recently? All products, even CG-approved ones, will cause build-up on the hair eventually. Many of us on the forum use a sulfate shampoo every now and then to cleanse the hair from build-up.