Why is my hair stringy and dry?

MarissaP27MarissaP27 Posts: 2Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
hi all,
im new to transitioning back to my naturally curly hair. Right now I think I’m about a 2c but 10yrs ago when I embraced my natural state it was closer to 3a with loose ringlets. I had a dye job gone wrong and then had corrective lightening which ruined my curl and since then I’ve basically been straight ironing my hair every day 😬. I’m so over it now, after the birth of my 3rd boy and I want my curls back! Ive dumped all my silicone and sulfate products and am currently using shea moisture coconut and hibiscus shampoo, conditioner, and smoothie. My hair is definitely slowly getting better but I’m still in that weird stage of straight pieces and strange curl pattern. I know it needs to grow out or chop it. My hair is fine and currently thin due to postpartum hair loss. I also have some lovely new hair growth whispies in the front (thanks baby). My question is I feel like my roots are dry or tough or like they get stuck in a certain position when I’m air drying and then you can see my scalp and my hair looks so weird because he roots are all out of whack. I also feel like my curls aren’t clumping well and look stringy.  I’ve tried air drying with a part so my roots lay correctly but then I have zero volume. I’ve only been transitioning for a few weeks now so i know I have a ways to go. Protein/deep conditioning have brought more curl back but I’m still stuck on how to style daily. I tried plopping yesterday and that looked fabulous nice clumps but slightly strange roots again and later in the day it looked stringy again. Help! Should I try a different shampoo and conditioner? Is it just stringy because its heat damaged? And what is up with my roots?? Thanks! 

Comments

• Guide 65Guide 65 Posts: 1,629Registered Users, Moderators Curl Virtuoso