Hair Advice

JoannE004JoannE004 Posts: 4Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Hi, I'm new to the CG routine and have 2c/3a hair, and I'm wondering if anyone else could give me advice on their routines or products they use. Thanks! 

Comments

• beantreesbeantrees Posts: 116Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Connoisseur
    edited May 2018
    Welcome!  I'm sure you'll get lots of great advice, people are very helpful here!

I too have 2c/3a hair and am new to CG.  I have no business giving advice lol, but here's a list of what I'm trying out:

Inecto Coconut Shampoo to clarify pre-CG (it has sulfates - have not used it since first day)
    Inecto Coconut Conditioner to co-wash
    Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil shampoo to low-poo if necessary (have only done this once, co-washing seems to work well so far)
    Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter conditioner
    Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter deep conditioner 1x/week
    Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil leave in
    AG Recoil curl activator
    Gel - I made flax seed gel (there is an epic thread about it somewhere on Curltalk) or I use a locally made gel from this hippie bulk store, lots of people seem to like LA Looks Sports Gel though.

I just posted my routine here with a pic.  Still experimenting with products

I've read and been warned that Shea Moisture can be really heavy for some folks' hair since shea butter can build up, so I'm keeping an eye out for that.  So far it seems ok to me but might be something to keep in mind if you get products from that brand, depending on how easily your hair gets weighed down.  The reason I bought them is because they were pretty inexpensive, CG approved, available in Canada, and don't use animal testing.

Good luck on your CG journey!  Keep us posted!
    2C/3A, med/coarse, thick density, high porosity - CG since 5/17/2018
    Earlobe length on one side and pixie short in back and other side.  Growing out to chin/jaw length.