Help ! Hair Type & Products !

FunsizeVixenFunsizeVixen Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 3 Curl Neophyte
I'm new to Naturally Curly but not to the natural world. I have been natural on & off throughout the years but recently for over a year. Before then I would perm my hair maybe twice a year & touch up my leave out & roots. Now that I am fully natural again, I've noticed different textures & curl patterns. I have dyed my hair with book color but recent color is professionally done. I wanted to see if anybody could lead me to the most consistent hair type they see & what products I could use to bring out the curls if possible. Pictures are from freshly washed untouched hair. When pressed out it's passed my shoulders. Thanks in Advance !

Answers

• Guide 65Guide 65 Registered Users, Moderators Posts: 1,984 Curl Virtuoso
    Welcome to CurlTalk!  I see all kinds of different curl patterns in your hair, everything from 4A to 4C, maybe even down to a 3.  The straighter bits are probably straight because of damage.  With proper care, you should be able to get all your curls a bit more consistent.

I'd suggest concentrating on conditioning.  Use deep conditioners with a heated cap, a really good rinse out conditioner, and use leave in conditioner too - but not a ready made leave in, just use your rinse out conditioner as a leave in.  Then maybe try a moisturizing curl enhancer like Kinky Curly Curling Custard, or Camille Rose Curl Maker, or Uncle Funky's Daughter Curl Magic.  Then use a hard hold gel on top of that.
    Formerly known as Janiegirl
    2B/2C, fine hair, low density, mixed porosity, protein loving hair
    Current products:
    Changing up my shampoos because I can't find one I like
    Deva Curl One Condition (original formula)
    Innersense I Create Volume
    Deva Curl Ultra Defining Gel
  • BrittanyMBrittanyM Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Curl Virtuoso