Help, I lost my curly hair

snackalicioussnackalicious Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 1 Curl Neophyte
Im new to all of this, but it seems like you guys know whats up, so I come to you with my problem. As a child I had curly hair regardless of the length, but it seemed that the more I grew the more my curls went away. I thought it had to do with the fact that I had lots and lots of hair reaching down past my butt so I let it go. They completely left when I reached 12-13, but again I blamed it on my amount of long hair. This is where I straightened it for 2 years straight until I realized that was the worst thing possible and stopped completely. Eventually my curls started to come back but the way they're coming back is all over the place. My roots are wavy, but the ones surrounding and framing my house are extremely curly while the rest of hair ear down is straight. I truly dont know what to do considering my hair is all over the place. Will they ever come back?I tried to find pictures that sort of reflected my explanation.

Answers

• RimonsileyRimonsiley Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 40 Curl Connoisseur
    As far as I know, curl pattern can change with puberty (or simply due to hormonal change). It is also possible that your hair are just damaged from the straightening (do you have split ends? Are your hair dry, dull, lifeless?) – damaged ends don't recover, they need to be cut off. Anyway I believe it can improve with proper care and some amount of time, so don't loose hope, your curls can grow back, especially if your roots are growing wavy :)
  • Guide 65Guide 65 Registered Users, Moderators Posts: 1,984 Curl Virtuoso
    Welcome to CurlTalk!  You'll never get your childhood hair back because you're no longer a child.  Your hair matures along with your entire body.  Then puberty comes along and changes everything!  Just try to work with what you have now, get it into the best condition you can, and see what your curls are capable of now.