Growing out pixie- should I trim for shape?

saf28203saf28203 Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 2 Curl Neophyte
Hello Friends,
First post! I hope this doesn't sound silly but I'm having a little anxiety about an appointment with a Deva stylist I have coming up in a month. 

I have been wearing a very short 1" pixie for several years but have been growing it out for 4- 5 months. I've never had a Deva cut. It is still pretty short, and it is deep in the awkward stage with the crown being longest (has not been trimmed in a few months), wings sticking out behind my ears, around my ears still very short, and the neck somewhat recently trimmed to avoid a mullet. It looks so shapeless and bad. Really, I know my hair just needs to grow, but I wanted to know if it would be silly to go see a stylist to have her trim some little pieces here and there or help with the shape as I grow it out.  I'm a little anxious because once before I asked a stylist just to 'tidy up' a short hairstyle that was getting shapeless and she scolded me for wasting her time and told me there was nothing she could do. 

I just would like to know if I would be wasting my stylist's time asking for this service and if I should let it continue growing longer before making an appointment? Thank you so much for your wisdom and help.

Comments

• Marci PieMarci Pie Registered Users Posts: 668 Curl Connoisseur
    For me, I would not go and get a Deva cut with what you described. I think you would not really receive the benefit of what Deva cuts can provide. Unfortunately, growing out hair is the worst and you will have these excuse the pun, growing pains. 

Having said that you may wait until your hair is longer before your get it shaped. I think shape is important, however, again like I stated I wouldn't cut my hair now in that stage.

BTW, I have grown out my hair 2-3 times from very short hair so I do feel your pain.