Help, I can't get the oil out of my hair!

WavyHeadMegWavyHeadMeg Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 24 Curl Novice
Hi! I'm new to CGM and decided it would be a good idea to do a coconut oil treatment on my scalp since it was sore and itchy after clarifying with baking soda (I had overconditioned my 2a/b hair a few days before and was trying to correct it by clarifying). Well I massaged 1 Tablespoon of coconut oil with a few drops of lavender oil into my scalp and onto my hair and left it all night. This morning getting it out has been a nightmare. I sulfate shampooed and it didn't come out. Then I read online that the protein in an egg would cut through the oil so I beat an egg and rubbed it into my hair and then washed it out. The results have been horrific- still greasy hair that smells like musty warm egg. Suggestions please? I don't want to strip my hair again and go back to where I started, but I don't want to be a greasy mess either!

Comments

• BrittanyMBrittanyM Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Curl Virtuoso
    It's strange that a sulfate shampoo wouldn't remove the oil. Did you massage/scrub your scalp with the sulfate shampoo?
  • WavyHeadMegWavyHeadMeg Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 24 Curl Novice
    @BrittanyM I did scrub with the sulfate shampoo. About to go in for another round. I have low porosity hair and in the past have had a big problem with buildup. Don't know if that has anything to do with it.
    The low porosity may be a factor. I hope you get it out soon. I'm sorry this happened to you.
  • WavyHeadMegWavyHeadMeg Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 24 Curl Novice
    @BrittanyM thanks for empathizing with me. The second wash did it, although now I'm back at limp, frizzy, overly soft hair. I think I'm going to stop conditioning for a week or so and see if things normalize.
  • WildberryWildberry Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 90 Curl Connoisseur