Upcycle products?

LaReineLuiseLaReineLuise Posts: 2Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Hey Curlies,

since I'm new to CurlTalk I hope you might help me out in this matter:

What do you do with products that you buy but don't work for your hair? Throw them out, give them away?
I recently bought the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, but no matter how much or little I use, it does not really work for my moody 2c/3a hair. One reason might be that the german winter is too cold because I figured that the Cantu Curl Activator Cream, which is heavier than the smoothie, works better.
The thing is: I don't have curlie friends who could use the Smoothie instead, and I'm on a budget, so I'm hesitant to throw out a product I paid 20€/$25 for.

Do you know if there are possibilities to add something to the Smoothie to make it thicker and more suitable for my hair?

Thanks a bunch!

Answers

• RimonsileyRimonsiley Posts: 40Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Connoisseur
    I have to say I usually give the products to someone else, mostly to my mom (she doesn't have curly hair, but her mane accepts basically anything :smile: ). Sometimes I try to repurpose it, f. e. with conditioners I just mix them with water to make moisturizing spray I use during the day.
    In your case, I have no experience with that brand or the product itself, but have you tried mixing in some oils or butters to make it thicker? Other than that, maybe just mixing it with another product. Hope that helps!
  • WavyKfromNJWavyKfromNJ Posts: 853Registered Users Curl Virtuoso
    You could hold onto it, to see if it will work in the warmer weather.

You could list it for sale on the swap board

2b, 2c,
    High Porosity - Very Fine Hair

Low Poo: Living Proof Restore Shampoo
    Rinse Out: Living Proof Restore Conditioner
    Leave In: Living Proof Curl Leave-In or Garnier 1 Minute Mask - Papaya
    Treatments: Restore Repair Leave-In,