Confused? Whats my hair type? How to take care of it?

ObaidyObaidy Posts: 2Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
edited March 13 in Hair Type 3
Cutting this short. What's my hair type? Density and all? 
Being Arab and all of my family have really loose wavy hair and me being the only one with curls made this almost impossible to take care off. 
The front of my head is really tight curls. At the top of my head is kinda loose curls, so my hair is a mix of curl types I guess.
How can I keep my hair growing downwards instead of outwards?

Best Answers

• Guide 65Guide 65 Posts: 732 Curl Virtuoso
    Accepted Answer
    Welcome!  Your hair looks like a 3C to me, but I'm not very good at curl typing.  It doesn't really matter anyway.  Most of us have a mix of curl patterns on our head, and the curls can change from season to season, or even day to day.  What's more important is porosity, strand thickness (fine or coarse hair), and density.

The best thing you can do is moisturize.  Use gentle shampoos, or no shampoo at all. Use a good conditioner, use leave in conditioner. 
    Formerly known as Janiegirl
    2C/3A, fine hair, low density, low porosity, protein loving hair
    Current products:
    Noughty Wave Hello Shampoo
    Deva One Condition original formula
    Dippity Do Girls with Curls Gelee (the more I use this, the more I love it!)
  • GretchenGretchen Administrator Posts: 10,124 Administrator
    edited March 22 Accepted Answer
    Welcome, @Obaidy!  So glad you've joined us. 
    I agree... I think you're probably a 3C. Have you taken the Texture Quiz
    Why do you want it to grow down sted out? Here in the U.S., anyway, big hair is beautiful hair! :) 

Gretchen
    NaturallyCurly.com co-founder
    3A

You are beautiful!

Answers

• ObaidyObaidy Posts: 2Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
    Thanks for taking time to answer me.
    I guess all my life my hair has never gone past my shoulders and trying never hurts I guess lol.