Newbie here, is my hair 2b, 2c, or 3a? And am I using the wrong products?

katherineviolinistkatherineviolinist Posts: 3Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Hi, so my hair in my profile pic was from about 2 weeks ago. I think my products at the time were just a silicone free leave in conditioner (eden coconut and shea leave in), which I only used because it was my only sulfate/silicone free product at the time, and an alcohol-containing mousse which I scrunched in. Then I plopped all afternoon and overnight and woke up with my hair still slightly damp. I now have a sulfate free shampoo (sheamoisture jamaican black castor oil strengthen and repair) and sheamoiture's curling gel souffle (which I'm considering returning.) I think my hair is low to medium porosity, definitely medium to high thickness and diameter, and idk if it's 2b, 2c, or 3a. My hair takes over 8 hours to air dry, so I usually blow dry with a hair strainer for 30 minutes after I shower. (I'm going to buy a diffuser tip.) I find that my hair gets really gunky when it dries, and my second day hair is almost like a 2a. So, basically, what is my hair type, are the products I'm currently using good for my hair type, and what new products shouls I buy? 

Best Answers

• BrittanyMBrittanyM Posts: 119Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Accepted Answer
    So you mentioned your hair is gunky when dry, is it possible that it's the Shea moisture souffle? You have to use an absurdly small amount of that product or it will leave your hair kind of sticky.
    Your hair looks 2b, 2c from the picture. If you feel you have low porosity hair, look for light weight products. Low porosity tends to like being clean and is prone to build up. Don't be afraid to use an occasional sulfate shampoo to remove buildup if needed. Besides the gunkiness and how long it takes to dry, what are your concerns about your hair? If your hair frizzess, it very well  may need more moisturizing products. Best of luck!