Can't keep my fingers or brushes out of my hair!

Sirenfox82Sirenfox82 Posts: 8Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
I'm new to this curly girl thing, though I've been sulfate/mostly silicone free for 2 or 3 years now, and I've been mostly heat free for about 6 months, maybe? What IS new to me (aside from finally realizing the texture of my hair) is squish to condish and using products such as leave-in conditioners and curl-defining gels. I've been doing an upright squish to condish as well as a modified way of scrunching product into my hair. I like to comb it first and part my hair, then scrunch upright. With the way my waves are, when I do the flipped over thing my hair just dries into a total mess. My hair is relatively straight from the roots to about midshaft (except for a few cowlicks) and then the curls kick in and get more intense at the bottom. I rather like it, as long as my hair is long enough for the curls to happen. If my hair is shorter it just goes every which way because it's not heavy enough with length if that makes any sense. After I'm a seasoned curly girl I'm wondering if that will change and I'll be able to have shorter hair without having to beat it into submission (I HAD to heat style it because my wave pattern looked AWFUL if I didn't).

But anyway, that short hair stuff is just a side thought.