Waves elongate and straighten out as hair dries...

amthbt1310amthbt1310 Posts: 8Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
edited January 2018 in Hair Type 2
Hello,
I am still new here and a complete beginner when it comes to taking care of my waves... (always treated them like straight hair).
I have a little question for you all who have wavy hair, low porosity, medium thickness and density.

What can I do if my hair is very wavy (2c wave nearly) when wet but straightens out to barely a 2b wave when dry ?

--> dries like that, with or without styling products (gel or curl cream), doesn't make a difference... what am I doing wrong?

My hair was much wavier a few years ago...here a picture from 2010:

I hope some of you can give me some helpful tips and tricks, thank you !

Best Answer

• bomegabomega Posts: 1,355 Curl Virtuoso
    edited January 2018 Accepted Answer
    Your hair looks healthy in that picture. :) You mentioned upthread that you use the Maui Moisture Style Milk but that the Eco Styler gel didnt't work for you for feeling brittle. I would give it a shot again with the Style Milk followed by the Ecostyler gel, but this time after your hair is dry (100%) try "scrunching out the crunch" which is just working your hands through your hair until that brittle feeling is gone. Some people also do this with a tiny amount (a drop or two) of oil.

But another thing to try is a protein treatment, since the clarify+dt alone didn't give you the results. Take a look at that Protein 101 article I linked above and see if you can make that work. I think both of the other protein treatment article also have a lot of good info.
    Low-poo: Alaffia Coffee & Shea Revitalizing Shampoo for Fine/Thin Hair (summer), Alaffia Coconut & Shea Hydrating Shampoo
    Clarify: Kinky Curly Come Clean
    Rinse-out: Alaffia Coffee & Shea Revitalizing Conditioner for Fine/Thin Hair (summer), Alaffia Everyday Coconut Ultra Hydrating Conditioner