How do I know which products are right for me?

MonipenMonipen Registered Users Posts: 64 Curl Connoisseur
I am completely new to this as my whole life I never knew what to do with my curly hair, because of that I've been straightening my hair for the past 17 years. I have never used any chemicals to do that though, like relaxing, my hair is relatively easy to straighten so it wasn't necessary. In the beginning it was a blow-dryer and a round brush, until I discovered the flat-iron, this was a god-sent!

By the way I think have a 2c/3a curly pattern, I've concluded that by looking at pictures. I also believe I am a medium density and medium thickness of hairs (with a few thick hairs here and there. My hair density I really haven't got a clue so far (I posted a question about that in the porosity forum). 

As I just during the past couple of weeks started doing research online about curly hair I suddenly learned a whole lot of new things I never knew before. I've been using regular schampoo + conditioner (nothing expensive just from the local drugstore) which inlcudes sulfates (which I've just learned about are not good for curly hair) my entire life! The other products that I use are a oil and silicone serum that's supposed to be heat-protecting since I use the flat-iron once a week. I really liked silicone because it makes my hair look nice smooth and shiny, a thing I never had when my hair was curly, until now I just learned that that's also not a good product, but I've been using this for 17 years as well.