Seeking natural hair regimen & need guidance

RK21RK21 Posts: 2Registered Users Curl Neophyte
Hi y'all!

I have been using Herbal Essence Totally Twisted for 10+ years and have (finally) realized that I should find a product that is much more eco-friendly, more natural, and healthier for my hair. The trial and error process can get quite pricey so I figured chatting with a hivemind of curly haired friends would be best!

Type: 3B / 3C
Density: Thin
Porosity: High (probably the years of HE)
Thickness: Medium

Current Regimen:
Alternate between a shampoo wash or a conditioner wash every 2-3 days (rarely both in same wash). Always style with mousse afterward then air dry
- Shampoo: Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Shine
- Conditioner: Aussie Megga Moist
- Mousse (to replace!): Herbal Essence Totally Twisted

What I'm learning is that a leave in conditioner, cream, or other water based type product is best. I've learned that gels and I do not get along as they tend to dry my hair out, causing it to tangle more and require more washing/conditioning. What I like about the mousse is that I can wear it without a wash for 2-3 days. The 'cast' can be reactivated with a spritz of water and I'm good to go. Additionally, the mousse also works great for fighting humidity.

Items I've tried:
- Shea Moister: Curl & Style Milk - Did ok, but didn't create a strong enough cast to last 2-3 days
- Miss Jessie's Jelly Soft Curls Gel: Disaster. Had to wash my hair everyday it tangled up so much. Kinda mad I spent so much on this one.
- Lush's R&B: Smells amazing, but didn't create a strong enough cast to last. Also, not very affordable - dime size amount is a joke!

Any recommendations for conditioning hair masks, leave-in conditioners, oils, mousse, or styling creams? Would love to find a routine that only means a wash every 2-3 days (or more!).

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• amlmartiamlmarti Posts: 6Registered Users Curl Neophyte