CurlTalk

As I Am - Horrible Experience!

lgibson2017lgibson2017 Posts: 1Registered Users
Y'all. Ugh.

First off, an intro since I am a newbie: I have naturally red type 3 curls that I recently cut about 6-10 inches off of on a whim. It went from hipbone length (stretched) to armpit length (stretched) and is just past my shoulders unstretched. I have all types of 3's in my hair, with different pieces having different textures.

I recently purchased the As I Am Coils and Curls Care Package with 6 products to try. I bought it for like $25-ish at Walgreens (a bit under $25). On first whiff, the smell was nice, like coconuts.

The other night, I went to cowash with the As I Am coconut cowash and their Hydration Elation intensive conditioner. I got through the cowash and the intensive conditioner....with much difficulty.

Guys, the smell was so bad I started gagging almost immediately and nearly had to get out of the shower to throw up. It smelled like coconut with a faint hint of pickles???? That's not even doing it justice, guys, it smelled HORRIBLE. I rushed to rinse it out and my hair felt simultaneously straw-like and greasy. A bit about me, my scalp hasn't produced natural oils AT ALL since puberty, so my hair NEVER feels greasy and it felt greasy.

It took 4 washes to get the smell out of my hair, 4 deep conditions and my hair STILL hasn't regained all of its softness, and I had to wash my hands over and over with Dawn and still the smell wouldn't come out.

These products have rave reviews everywhere so maybe I got a bad batch? Maybe it's the shea butter???? I'm not sure but the smell wouldn't get out of my nose and everything I smelled afterwards smelled like "it."

I emailed the company and will hopefully receive a refund but ughhhhhh. If you're thinking about using these products, proceed with caution and SMELL IT FIRST.

Comments

• BotticelliBritBotticelliBrit Posts: 2,075Registered Users Curl Neophyte