Medium to longer hair - do you have layers cut in the back?

ttoosdayttoosday Posts: 509Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
My stylist cuts my hair awesome every time, and I'm now getting longer length for the first time in...well my entire life really. Since I have abandoned the stacked bob, I have been shying away from layers because I am lower density and I've been scared to have layers feel like a thinning of my hair. I am now approaching armpit length, depending on the day. Ive been evened out from the stacked bob for the most part. My shortest layers are probably shoulder length and now look like they go all the way around. But Im still new to visualizing how layers will affect my hair. .

I'd finally agreed to some subtle layers two or maybe three haircuts ago and I have ended up liking them so I'm getting braver with saying 'yes go ahead with layers,' and I know she knows I mean subtle layers. But this last time, I think she cut some layers in the back...which resulted in revealing some gaps in the longest sections in the middle after they clump. Or maybe it always looked like this pre-layers, I dont know, honestly I don't like the curl pattern back there so I try not to look at it if I don't have to. Should I tell her not to layer the back but only the sides next time, what is the best look?

Anyways, just curious what those with medium to long hair do for layers when you have them....do you have layers cut in the sides only, or do you have layers in the back as well, do you go long/subtle layers, short/dramatic layers, do you do the V shape cut, whats your style? Pics welcome!
CG since 11/2014
Mostly 2B, but ranges A-C front to back and root to tip
Low density, very coarse, high porosity
Collarbone length, gray dyed brown, dry and rough
Typical LEG routine could be any combination of:
Lo poo: Shea Moisture brand shampoo, Ion Hard Water Shampoo
Cowash: As I Am Coc Cowash
RO: GVP CB, Aussie Mega Moist, Not Your Mothers Gardenia