Curls always go limp/fall out

Hi everyone, I am new to wearing my hair curly and could use some advice. I think my hair is 2b, it is very fine, and there is not much of it. I believe it is high porosity. I have cherub curls according to the Curly Girl Handbook.

I have been fighting my curly hair my whole life, got made fun of for it as a kid, and have been blow drying and straightening it for the last 10+ years almost every day. It has also been colored, though not much in the last couple of years. About two months ago I decided to try to figure out how to wear it curly, since my young daughters all inherited my curls. I want to help them with their hair and show them that curly hair IS pretty.

All that said, no matter what I do, my curls go limp by mid-morning. There is no bounce/spring back at all. They eventually clump together at the bottom and it just looks blah. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to change or how to figure out what I'm doing wrong? I keep adjusting the products and amounts to no avail. I've watched a ton of YouTube videos and read on these forums, but I'm so confused on what to try next. Can you all steer me in the right direction?

My current routine is to wash every day (it gets so greasy on day 2) with SM weightless fruit fusion shampoo and SM weightless fruit fusion conditioner. Squeeze excess water out with my hands. Sometimes apply a tiny bit of KC Knot Today to the ends, then DC B'Leave In, then DC Ultra Defining Gel. Scrunch upside down with a mf towel, then diffuse on cool until about 90% dry. Once dry, scrunch out the crunch with a little DC set it free in my hands, then DC hair spray a couple of times during the day in a desperate attempt to keep it from falling limp.

Thank you in advance for your help!!

Comments

• Therese1Therese1 Posts: 2,563Registered Users Curl Virtuoso
    Have you clarified recently? Many of us on the forum clarify with a sulfate shampoo every now and then to get rid of product build-up.