A Sudden Tangled Mess!

Lisa.BoydLisa.Boyd Posts: 4Registered Users
New to the GC method. I have very fine, thin, wavy hair. I had been hennaing it (full head applications) for ~3 years and it was super healthy, but limp and very little curl. In July I crazily decided i wanted to be platinum blonde and had about 4 beaching sessions at the salon before I realized it just wasn't for me. My waves started coming back and I decided to go GC + henna to see what my true hair potential could be.

Things have been going fairly well (2b hair turning 2C with a few spirals even) until 2 days ago when my hair suddenly went super dry, straw-like and impossible to detangle, even when drenched in condish. I certainly damaged my hair when bleaching, but this is a sudden change.

I deep conditioned with SM Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque and it felt worse. The worst part is that i'm ripping out tons of hair trying to detangle.

What am I doing wrong? How can I hydrate and detangle?

Sulfate Free Poo: Kinky Curly Come Clean
Rinse Out: Yes to Carrots, GVP Conditioning Balm
Leave In: Kinky Curly Knot Today, As I am
Stylers: SM Curl Enhancing Smoothie, HE Totally Twisted Gel, AG Rec:oil Curl Activator

Comments

• joslin2005joslin2005 Posts: 43Registered Users
    I read something about someone's hair feeling straw-like. If I remember correctly, it means your hair has too much protein. Let me see if I can find the article and I'll link it in a comment.
    Curl Pattern: 2B/2C ( I think), LP, high density, coarse
    I'm experimenting with the following....
    Shampoo: Mop Top gentle shampoo, Mop Top clarifying rescue treatment
    Conditioner: Mop Top Daily Conditioner
    Leave in: As I am, KKKT
    Gel: Kinky Curly Custard, Cantu define and shine custard
    Refresher: Geranium Refresher Spray (2c distilled water+5 drops of geranium essential oil), DIY spray gel (1 T Mop Top custard + 1 oz distilled water)