HOLD product recommendations (2b-3a hair)?

SuziQSuziQ Posts: 7Registered Users Curl Neophyte
I'm new to curliness, even though I'm 52. I started the no-poo method about 15 months ago (I'm now cowashing) and, surprise!, my somewhat wavy (mostly grey/white/silver) hair started curling about a month ago. I guess it really didn't like shampoo.

I now apparently have low porosity, medium density, 2b to 3a hair, depending on the day. (The attached pic shows how it looks on an average day. Sometimes it's more or less curly.)

I've been experimenting with products over the last few weeks, but haven't found anything that really holds the curls and keeps the frizz down. I'm having to refresh with water several times a day, which works, but then my hair is wet all the time.

I really hate that crunchy feel and "wet" look that so many gels and mousses produce. My hair gets weighed down pretty easily, and if I use much product, my roots start looking gross and greasy.

Also, I'm committed to using cruelty-free products as much as I can. Plus, I'm hyper-sensitive to fragrances.

I know, I know. That's a lot of factors.

Even so, can anyone recommend good hold products for me? I'm extremely grateful for any help!

Thanks!

~ SuziQ

Comments

• curlyamarylliscurlyamaryllis Posts: 338Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Your hair is so pretty! (I'm growing out my grey. Grey curlies like you give me hope.)

What about making your own flaxseed gel? It's not difficult and there wouldn't be any fragrances and it's cruelty free.

If that isn't for you, Kinky Curly Curling Custard is a popular choice, I believe it's all natural and it has a lot of hold. LA Looks Sports Gel doesn't bother me, but I'm not sensitive to all artificial fragrances, just some of them. It's also really cheap, though, so if it didn't work out for you, you'd only be out $3.
    CG since May 1, 2016
    3a, fine, thin, normal porosity, no dye, greying naturally