Hello From a Newbie!

kellekkellek Registered Users Posts: 16
Hello fellow wavies! Funny thing happened to me recently, I realized I have wavy hair. Not just poufy, straight, can't do anything with it hair. Actual waves. Weeeee! Only took me 30something years and a baby to figure it out.....

So, as a complete newbie and 2 weeks in to CG this is what I am working with.

2a/2b (maybe b??), fine, medium density. Not sure yet about porosity or protein sensitivity yet, but I am going with 'normal/average' for now. Current routine is as follows: CoWash: L'oreal EverCurl 6in1 Balm, Condish and Leave-In: SM Raw Restorative Conditioner, Style: GF Curl Scrunch Gel, OGX Quenching + Coconut Curls Mousse

Takeaways After Two Weeks:
1. Not really digging the L'Oreal cleansing balm and SM conditioner together. My hair doesn't retain much slip and it doesn't feel all that soft. Since my hair is usually all about the moisture I decided to keep using the SM as my wash out conditioner and switch out the L'Oreal for Sauve Naturals Coconut to use as the co-wash and leave in.
2. I am not really digging gel for my hair. It gets stringy. I like the look and feel much better with just the mousse. (I think both of these products are CG approved nothing on the labels jumped out at me, but can someone please verify?)
3. I am SO CONFUSED about the squish to condish, plop, scrunch to dry process. I am finally getting the hang of squish to condish to get clumping (yay), but once I plop (usually about 10 minutes or so in a turbie twist) and move on to adding in mouse all that clumping gets broken up. And when during this process am I supposed to scrunch with the microfiber towel and how do I keep that from breaking up my waves?

I have two young kids and I am pretty low maintenance, so I am trying to make this as wash and wear as possible. I also don't like the feel of a lot of product in my hair.

Anywho, on to the fun stuff. PICS.
:angel9:Curly Girl Newbie - started 9/7/2016