Natural hair might go back to relaxed?

Meme61171Meme61171 Posts: 2Registered Users
Hi everyone, I'm Meme, I'm a newbie here and I need your help.
Quick info on my hair journey: my mom relaxed my hair since I was a little girl (starting around 6 y.o). Growing up, relaxer was all I knew. So I used it up until 2011. Then I did the big chop and joined team natural. My hair care routine is pretty basic:
*Shea moisture yucca & plantain shampoo.
*TRESemme Conditioner, Naturals Nourishing Moisture
*Cantu Leave in conditioner
*Coconut oil (sometimes)
I have a mixture of 3b and 3c hair but it's more 3c. My hair is beautiful and loose when wet but when my 3c curls dry...i can't style it.
I need help. I'm so close to buying a texturizer. I love doing buns (High, low, messy, twisted). But since I stopped relaxing, my hair doesn't lay flat. So I have a bun but then from the hairline to the mid section, there's a bunch of hairs sticking up or coiling up and looking like tiny afros. I've tried coconut oil, leave ins, gel, and spray. I also tried the edge control (worked better, but makes my hair feel sticky). I always have to wear a headband outside because my hair is fuzzy.
I like using a banana clip to air dry and style but my hair gets tangled really bad.
I need a solution for stretching these curls and taming these stray aways.

Any help advice?

Comments

• multicultcurlymulticultcurly Posts: 5,136Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Hi Meme. Do you have pictures of your hair you could post? If you wore your hair straight all of your life, getting accustomed to very curly hair can be difficult. Many times, those short hairs sticking up are new hairs growing in or the downy hair often referred to as baby hair.