Sun and Sea Damage

tadtad Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the naturally curly community and I was wondering if anyone could give me suggestions on how to restore the health of my hair. I recently moved close to the sea and my hair is exposed to salty air and sun a lot. This winter I did a lot of camping. I went swimming and sometimes didn't wash the salt out and I spent a great deal of time in the sun. I know it sounds really stupid but somehow I didn't think this would really affect my hair. My hair has always been pretty low maintenance. I basically just co-wash, air dry and that's it. Between washes I used coconut oil as a daily moisturizer. Over this past winter I used shea butter because I could feel that the texture of my hair was dryer and it seemed to make it feel softer. This past winter because of my lifestyle I rarely washed my hair. I applied dark brown henna to cover my gray roots about once a month and used shea butter as a daily moisturizer. The henna would fade within a few days of application so something about my hair had changed. When I returned home, my hair was really dried out and subsequent henna treatments would not work. I abandoned the shea butter after reading that it only coats the hair. I've tried argan, carrot and jojoba oils, but they don't really do much. I finally gave in and bought a supermarket conditioner by Garnier. It worked really well, but as I don't like the idea of using anything unnatural I don't want to continue with it. I made a conditioner with the conditioner that I am using from the health food store, honey and banana with a heating cap and this also worked really well. It gave me shine and very defined curl, trouble is my hair still felt stiffish and somewhat straw-like. I made another conditioner with coconut milk, honey and conditioner from the health food store. This made my hair dry, so I think the thing that worked in the first conditioner I made was the banana. I'd really like to find somet