I'm growing out my hair and I'm not sure about my hair type?

PrzPrz Posts: 2Registered Users
Hey there :D,

First of all, I'm a Spanish guy and I've been growing out my hair for 9 months now. At the beginning everything went okay, but right now as it is 5 inches long (right in the awkward stage), it's really dry and frizzy and I don't know what to do with it. I saw this website some time ago and I thought this was the best place to know more about my hair (omfg, finally a forum for curly haired people). The problem is that I don't know which hair type I have and how should I take care of it :(

My aim is to achieve something like Giaro Giarratana's hairstyle or Jay Alvarrez.

Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad English :')

Comments

• GlamourstruckkGlamourstruckk Posts: 308Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Your English is fine! It may be hard to determine your hair type right now because it may not be at its full potential. You mention that your hair is dry and frizzy. Let's tackle those.

There are beginner links in the sticky posts here that will help get you started with the Curly Girl method. You could also read the book (library or buy) but the information is online for free.

Curly Girl will get your hair moisturized and will cut down on frizz. Then we can see your hair type better.

Kayla

Youtube - Website
    4b/Density:iii/Strands:Fine, MBL
  • naturecatnaturecat Posts: 1,986Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Hair type is much less important when figuring out how it care for it than your hair properties. What is your strand thickness? What is your hair density? And porosity? (You can tell porosity by drying time; 6+ hours = low porosity, 2-6 hours is medium, less than 2 = high. Also if product just sits on your hair and doesn't absorb, it's low po; if your hair drinks up product like there's no tomorrow it's high po)