What conditioner to use for co-wash? ????

SopottSopott Registered Users Posts: 42 Curl Neophyte
Hi all, I'm new to curly hair, so I have lots of questions. I just bought and read the curly girl book, and I really want to try it. My hair/ scalp is currently recovering from long term low dose chemotherapy, so I have a special shampoo I use once week. It's not cg but I don't want to give it up until
I finish the bottle.

In between can I use any cg conditioner to co-wash? I am currently using cantu hydrating cream conditioner. Is there any reason why I can't use that? I live in the uk, so getting hold of cg products is not easy .
2C/3A
shampoo: Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose
conditioner: Aubrey Organics Island Naturals
leave-in: Shea Moisture Coconut Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie
sealing oil: olive, coconut, avocado
gel: Deva

alternating weeks
protein: Aphogee 2 Minute Reconstructor
moisture: Cantu Deep Treatment Masque

Comments

• Geek_ChicGeek_Chic Registered Users Posts: 1,275 Curl Connoisseur
    Sopott wrote: »
    Hi all, I'm new to curly hair, so I have lots of questions. I just bought and read the curly girl book, and I really want to try it. My hair/ scalp is currently recovering from long term low dose chemotherapy, so I have a special shampoo I use once week. It's not cg but I don't want to give it up until
    I finish the bottle.

In between can I use any cg conditioner to co-wash? I am currently using cantu hydrating cream conditioner. Is there any reason why I can't use that? I live in the uk, so getting hold of cg products is not easy .

Technically yes, you can use any conditioner to co-wash (conditioner wash). If you like the Cantu, feel like your hair is clean after use, and that it doesn't create buildup, then by all means continue co-washing with it. It wouldn't be my choice for a co-wash, because it has shea butter as the 3rd ingredient after water (tends to weigh down my hair and build up).