Newbie Here! Not sure where to start..

WavyMoWavyMo Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everyone! I've read a few things on here over the past few years, and I finally decided to make an account.

I'm in need of some serious wavy/curly hair advice.
I'm not really sure what my hair type is, I think I'm mostly 2B with some areas of 2A and 2C.
The biggest reason I'm looking to change the way I care for my hair is because it's very frizzy and poofy, with a very unpredictable wave/curl pattern.
I attached some pictures of my hair, not sure how well they will look after uploading.

What do you think my curl pattern is and where should I start with this new hair journey?

Looking forward to learning from you all!

Comments

• MorrisonFan91MorrisonFan91 Registered Users Posts: 609 Curl Connoisseur
    welcome :) .

i think , i would start by making sure no silicones in products.
  • curlynccurlync Registered Users Posts: 219 Curl Neophyte
    Welcome! I agree with MorrisonFan91 that cutting out silicones is a good place to start. I'd first use a clarifying shampoo to remove any buildup of cones or other products you might have in your hair. Then, if your current shampoo has sulfates, I'd replace that with a sulfate-free shampoo (low poo). Because you won't be using silicones, you won't need the harsh cleanser to remove them.

As far as your curl pattern, it looks mostly 2b to me. You'll want to start trying to figure out your other hair properties as well, as those are the important ones, especially thickness and porosity. I admit, I had a lot of trouble determining mine which is why I finally just did a hair analysis. But search these boards and you should find some help. Once you know those, it'll be helpful to add them to your signature so people can provide answers to your future questions based on hair type.

Good luck!
    2c/3a
    Porosity: low at roots; normal mid-shaft; high at ends
    Texture: mix of medium & coarse
    Density: medium