Help please! VERY fine and thin 3a hair

Curly19Curly19 Registered Users Posts: 3 Curl Neophyte
Hello,

I'm new here, and I'd like to say how happy it makes me to see so many curly haired ladies with such beautiful curls! You guys are inspiring!

I have been losing the battle with my curly hair for 26 years, now I'm finally ready to embrace it. But that's easier said than done.

I have 3a curls but my hair is extremely fine, thin, and damaged. My ponytail is only about as thick as my index finger when my hair is straight. It's mid/upper back length when straight but shrinks to shoulder length when curly.

I have started my new routine with Cantu shampoo, OGX Coconut Curls conditioner, Loreal EverCurl leave-in and Cantu curling lotion (I hoped this would be lighter than the cream that is in a jar).

I used a home-made hot oil treatment yesterday (conditioner, coconut oil, and extra virgin olive oil) to try to add some moisture. Then I washed, conditioned, dried it with a t-shirt, and tried to style it curly for the first time. I scrunched in the leave-in and the curling lotion, put a few duck clips in the top for volume, and left it alone to dry. The results: not as great as the girls you see on here or pinterest... haha.

Here's where I need advise!!

The curls looked great while they were drying and I was very excited, but once dry they still look "wet" and with frizz between the curls, especially at the crown of my head. The curls are tightly "clumped" which is great but with my hair being so thin, you can see right through my hair to my neck and shirt especially at the ends. It looks stringy and scraggly. :cry: I'm confused - too much product making them look wet? Or not enough product making them frizzy?

If anyone with thin/fine hair could give me some tips I would be forever grateful. I was really hopeful this would end my years of hatred for my hair but right now I'm feeling very defeated... again.

Thank you so much!
High porosity, fine and thin 3a/3b curls