My hair is very thick at the back!

ReduliteRedulite Posts: 3Registered Users
Hello! My hair is between 2c and 3b, I don't know exactly what type it is but I'm pretty sure it's between those. :) I use tresemme moisture conditioner as a normal condishioner and leave-in then I usually apply Shea Moisture smoothie.

Okay so anyway..I've been struggling with curly hair all my life really but never had the courage to straighten it or apply any kind of heat. None of my family has curly hair so I ended up going to school with a frizzball for a head. (and i'm not joking because I used to get my hair cut short) After getting bullied a lot put my hair up into a ponytail and wore it like that for a good three-four years. After reading through this site I really wanted to treat my hair properly and to be able to wear it down so a few months back I started doing that. I've been wearing it on and off down for a few months now and I love it but it has brought up some concerns i've never noticed before.

Firstly I have a lot of hair. My hair is about shoulder length but is very dense/thick at the back. When it starts to dry my hair sort of resembles a triangle. The front of my hair doesn't seem to have this problem. I'm planning on getting a haircut soon and people have suggested I get my hair thinned. Now I really don't like volume so the triangle shape really isn't ideal. I have heard that thinning is bad for curly hair but then how do I solve this issue??

Secondly the line on my scalp where my hair parts is really wonky? I think this may be because of how I used to tie it up all the time but I can't seem to make it any better. :I

So what do you guys suggest?
Thank you for the help by the way!

Comments

• Snash14Snash14 Posts: 9Registered Users
    What do you mean by wonky? Also, for the triangle hair, getting a layered haircut helps because then the curls are different lengths and you don't get the Christmas tree look.
    Mixed 2C/3A curls