New Wavy, can't get my hair to look good, please help

Dawn.HolderDawn.Holder Posts: 6Registered Users
Hi everyone,
I've been stalking here for about 2 months. I decided to try CG as I wanted to help bring out whatever natural texture my hair had and to get away from using heat as my hair does have damage from heat/chemicals.
I've learned a lot from the forums here and tried a lot of the techniques and have a large bin full of products at home but I'm really struggling with making my hair look good; at least to the point where I can walk out of the house without wearing a hat. At this point I'm getting very frustrated and leaning towards going back to the curling iron!
I've tried the squish and condish and spritz and condish and putting product in my hair while it's soaking wet, then cover in a microfiber towel (plopping does nothing for me) then pixie diffuse then sotc. I get very nice waves but they look too piecey and producty. I'm almost wondering if my hair color contributes to it not looking good? I'm growing out an ombre and the look just is not attractive.
I've also tried putting product in after the shower, and after the microfiber towel (which is great; I can definitely tell a huge difference between this and a regular terrycloth towel!) and then either air drying or pixie diffusing and then I get thinner waves but still very separated looking and very much like I'm a refugee from the 80's!
I had my hair cut last week by my regular hairdresser and explained to her that I was trying to embrace my natural texture but she still cut my hair as if it was straight and did a round brush blow dry; also she used freaking thinning shears!!!!!!! so now my fine hair looks thinner on the sides.
I'm not sure where to go from here, I guess what I'm looking for is any advice on how to get my hair to look less piecey and deal with frizz?
Thanks so much!
Currently using:
Deva Curl no poo/low poo (alternating due to hard water)
Suave naturals coconut condish