How do I grow out wavy easily broken fine hair?

julialynnjulialynn Posts: 2Registered Users
Hi, I have been trying to grow my hair long ever since I was seventeen. I am 37 now. I have fine 2a wavy hair that is full of splits and little pieces break off every time I brush it. I am trying to decide whether to just chop it off and start over or what. I have it to almost bra strap length and it won't ever go past that not because it does not grow but because I always get little pieces breaking off from an inch to half an inch and splits under that. I don't use any heat and just air dry. I don't chemically do anything to it. It grows because I have to cut my bangs all the time. I have been treating it the same for the last ten years. I was using a boar brush but switched to a plastic one with balls on the end. My hair got worse and now I am back to boar brush. I only wash it every three days and don't scrub it or rub it badly. The only thing I can think off that is left to try is to moisturize it and start buying sulfate free shampoo. I have never diligently done those two things. I always give up and start buying just any shampoo.There are spots under my neck where the hair is way shorter and on top of my head. I am thinking that if I chop it all off the same length maybe it will stop tangeling on itself and making more splits. I don't want to do it though if my hair just gets more splits. I tried regular trims for years and my hair would just Instantly split again. I also gave up and tried not trims for years. I am thinking maybe if I learn how to moisturize it first then chop it maybe I can finally get it to grow. Can any of you help me figure this out? And do you think I should chop it and try again or am I just stuck with hair that breaks and splits and it will just do it again? Is it a moisture problem?

Comments

• BeautyOGBeautyOG Curl Neophyte Posts: 383Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Well, firstly, I think you need to cut off your split ends.