Help with styling product for an LP nooby

katia_kaykatia_kay Posts: 20Registered Users
Hello all,

I'm very new, though I've been doing a little bit of lurking. So any mistakes/repeated ad-nausium questions are absolutely unintentional and I beg your forgiveness. :)

So I just learned about this hair porosity thing a day or two ago, and it goes a long way towards explaining things. But I'm still a little confused, and would appreciate product guidance/routine suggestions. I just very recently started doing anything more than "shampoo condition towel-dry and comb", so I'm new to the game, and could use the advice from you wise people.

I just picked up the KC Come Clean shampoo, because I get bad flakes on my scalp, and product makes my hair feel really dirty really fast. With sulfates it takes my hair days before it starts feeling dirty, but I tried cowashing and it was awful; my hair felt disgusting, even if it looked okay. So I'm gonna be using that clarifying shampoo, and a shea moisture Yucca anti-break conditioner to restore moisture. I also use the KC Knot Today, which I love, but which also makes my hair feel a little gross after a while if I don't use just the right amount.

People here keep advising doing a leave-in, and topping it with some sort of styling cream. But I'd like to know what LP people recommend, since even with just the leave-in my hair tends to feel a bit greasy, even if it's not flat.

I have low porosity, high density fine hair, which has no problem with volume, but which seems to break if you look at it the wrong way, and which manages to be simultaneously greasy and dry/frizzy at the same time. So I'd like something that defined my hair, which is...2C/3A? but which didn't make it feel gunky. I can handle crunchy, but not sticky; it grosses me out. I'm a nervous hair-toucher (I know I know don't do it), and I don't want to be feeling a bunch of crap in my hair.