Coarse, Thick Waves seeks Delicious Curls

amberlawamberlaw Registered Users Posts: 18 Curl Neophyte
OK, So I have been doing CG for several months now, and I feel like maybe this is as good as it gets. I've read a lot today about squishing and rinsing (which I will try) but my problem is this - I can get good curl definition if I diffuse, but no matter how I do that, I end up with huge, 80's style HAIR BAND HAIR. I do not want big hair. My products are in my sig. Currently I am gently scrunching water out and putting in the Smoothie before I scrunch dry with a t-shirt, scrunch in gel, and air dry. I get some decent waves but still, only curls on the bottom, where they get no love.
2015 946 (150x200).jpg 2015 942 (183x200).jpg IMG_3656 (173x200).jpg
Please to share with me your brilliant advice, thick haired lovelies.

(OK. Products did not show up in sig. Super. What I am using is: As I Am Co-Wash, Tressemme Perfectly (un)Done Conditioner (leaving some in), SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curling Smoothie and LA Looks Sport Gel.)
2a/b/c, coarse, high porosity, high density, blonde highlights hiding my salt and pepper, just a lot of dang wavy hair, is what it is.

Comments

• hilar_ridichilar_ridic Registered Users Posts: 45 Curl Neophyte
    Two things I notice, once is that you didn't mention using anything to clarify which is pretty important to do every once in a while, same with deep treatments. The other thing I notice is that you are using Tresemme Undone and you can search the other threads you will notice that a lot of wavies (me being one of them) have not had any luck with this conditioner. Although it feels great and may work at first it seems to have the ability to pull out our curls/waves. You may want to try changing that up and see if it helps. I am the definition of 80's hair band so I know where you are coming from. Its a constant search for the ultimate routine on here.
    2C - 1 year into CG
    Goosefootprints - Coarse, Dense, Normal porosity