I have questions for freelancers!

RimiRimi Registered Users Posts: 2,001 Curl Neophyte
Hi everyone :)

I'm a design student and I'm getting ready to start freelancing. A friend of mine is going to be the editor of a local magazine, and she would like me to do the graphic design work for the covers. Before getting started, I want to make sure that we both sign a contract.

How do you come up with your rates? How do you determine if you should charge an hourly fee or a project fee? How do you make sure that you get paid for each of these options?

Do you adjust rates for family and friends vs. new and long-term clients? If so, how?
21 y/o lifelong natural {4a-O ; spongy ; coarse ; dense ; MBL stretched}

products {'poo: TJTTT shampoo | RO: TJTTT Condish | LI/style: TJTTT Condish, homemade cocoa butter cream | DC: condish + ayurvedic powder(s), Aussie 3MMM Treatment | PT: condish + NPF | oils: castor oil, grapeseed oil | other treatments: probiotics, tea rinses, AVG rinse/spritz, oil rinse | sealing method: LC sometimes O}

long-term: HL stretched, BSL unstretched

CG-friendly Products List!

Comments

• eveumeveum Registered Users Posts: 744 Curl Neophyte
    Hey Rimi!

Hope you don't mind me replying here. I am not a freelancer or a design student but I have recently studied a module in my accountancy studies that included a topic covering what you should do if you decide to start your own business or do any freelance work. Here are some tips I have pulled out of my text book:

Fees usually calculated on:

-Skill and Knowledge needed
    -Level of training and experience needed
    -Time taken to carry out assignment
    -Level of responsibility that the work entails.

Ways to charge fees:

-Fixed rate (for a project)
    -Hourly rate
    -Contingent fees/percentage fees (probably not applicable)