Deva Cut- Bad experience!

I've been transitioning to naturally curly hair for about three years- and I haven't had a professional haircut since! I only go to "ethnic latina" salons because they know how to handle my hair, but they would automatically give me a blow without even asking- not wanting it blow dried seemed to be unheard of! I just cut my hair at home by pulling it into a pony tail at the front of my head and snipping off the dead ends. According to youtube, that method gives you great layers :P

Anyway, my brother's wedding is coming up so I took the plunge and scheduled my first deva cut! $75, which is pricy for just a cut...but I did it anyway...and it was HORRIBLE!

First, I noticed my stylist had sleek straight hair and there were advertisements for keratin treatments all over the salon. I wondered how my asian stylist with perfectly sleek straight hair could understand my curls...but I went for it anyway... Knowing that every other salon trip I've ever had lasted many, many hours, I was ready to go in for the long haul.. I sat in the chair, and she began to snip... ten minutes later she said "Okay, so now we'll go and wash..."
...What? That's it?
My hair looked exactly the same, just frizzier from her touching and manipulating my curls. She was quickly offended and after an awkward and heated exchange that included her rolling her eyes and asking me "Well, what did you expect?", I agreed to go to the washing station. She washed and scrunched my hair, put in some clips, and then sat me under the dryer.