Hi there! First post

ixeetaixeeta Posts: 1Registered Users
Hi there,
I've been lurking on here for several years, but have never posted before. My hair is mostly 2B with a straighter underlayer. Between some scalp issues that caused bald patches and early shifts I've been wearing my hair in a bun everyday for several years.

My routine has been to use a sulfate free shampoo and the matching conditioner (no specific brand). Then I use a cotton tshirt to towel dry my hair and tie it up out of the way while i do my face/brush teeth. At this point I take the t-shirt off and let it down to airdry during the drive to work. When I arrive I put it (still damp) into a bun using some Extra Hold hairspray to tame any frizzies. My picture is just before putting it up (Still in the car).

My scalp has healed enough that I don't have such noticeable bald patches anymore so I thought I'd try something new. About a week ago I went and got a Devacut (My first haircut in about 4 years!) and it looked awesome! The stylist used Deva products on me (No-Poo, One Condition and Light Defining Gel) and I bought these products to use at home.

My new routine (trying to copy what the stylist did) has been to wash just my scalp with the no-poo, run my fingers through with the one condition (not rinsed out) and then apply gel upside down, scrunch, clip the roots up and let air dry . (At this point she had put me under a dryer)

Here's my issues: I'm not used to using any products in my hair so when I try to do my hair it seems like i'm using an awful lot (about a toonie sized blob of gel for shoulder length hair)...until my hair dries and I try to scrunch it out. Then I have nice wavy/curly clumps on the ends but the rest of my hair is frizzy and stringy. And the top is very flat.