Shampoo help for this 2b....

alex.esareyalex.esarey Posts: 34Registered Users
Hello curlies!

My 2b is having serious build up problems with my deva no poo. Very greasy, stringy, and EEW. I have tried cowashing before with no luck, and have tried giovanni and similar low-poos (whole foods brand, natures gate, suave, etc).

I wash every other day, and worry about stripping my hair with a clarifying shampoo. Any suggestions would be great!!!

PS: I am a kindergarten teacher and cannot afford anything really $$ right now, unless I have the option to sample or return. Thanks!!
-2b/2c fine hair, easily weighed down

Currently using:
Wash: Deva NoPoo
RO: Deva One Condition
Style: Deva Foam & LA Looks Sports Gel

Dry using a Curlformers Softhood

Experimenting with Organix Coconut Shampoo and Kinky Curly Custard

Comments

• AngelaE8654AngelaE8654 Posts: 1,099Banned Users Curl Neophyte
    Sounds like you have hard water. I can cowash with Suave Rosemary Mint conditioner until the cows come home and I NEVER have build up. Ever. But that's because we have some of the softest water in the country. Look at the tips on this page; I recommend doing this; I'll bet it helps tremendously.

Beauty Tips – Ways to Beat Hard Water Hair
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

I'm definitely a "curly" 2c. Sometimes curly and sometimes just wavy upper layer with a ringlety under layer. My hair has been thick and coarse since birth. Strawberry blonde in color that can and does change depending on the type and amount of light.

All in all, I'm happy with my hair type but almost for sure think yours is prettier. :)
  • ExpectoPatronumExpectoPatronum Posts: 143Registered Users
    Using a harsh clarifying shampoo to strip your hair every once in a while won't hurt your hair. I do it maybe once a month/whenever my waves start looking bad and my hair looks and feels just fine. It might be dry for one wash, but a good conditioner always fixes it.