Shea Moisture Masks?

BluejacketsgirlBluejacketsgirl Posts: 94Registered Users
Ok, so I am new to really deep conditioning, I have only done it once or twice in years. I have read the She Moisture Masks are good so I bought the Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment.

I guess I'm used to the "slip" I get with my conditioners because this stuff just sort of sat on my hair and even though I left it in for a few minutes I don't know that it really did much.

Are you supposed to condition with regular conditioners AFTER a deep treatment? Anyone use any of these (I know they make several of them)...

I don't know if I'm doing it wrong, have the wrong expectations or if I just picked the wrong deep treatment. Help.
2C, low porosity, medium density
CoWash: As I Am Coconut Co-Wash
Low-Poo: SM Fruit Fusion Weightless Shampoo
Rinse Out & Leave In: SM Coconut and Hibiscus Curl & Shine Conditioner
Syler: KCCC. BRHG
Refresher: SheaMoisture Smooth and Repair High Shine Glosser

Read and follow my curly girl blog!:blob7:

Like me on Facebook!:thumright:
Follow me on Twitter!:angel8:

Comments

• sixelamysixelamy Posts: 4,157Registered Users Curl Novice
    The SM masques are reeeaallly heavy. If it feels like it's just sitting on your hair then it probably is - especially since you have low porosity hair.

Also, the masques aren't to be used for conditioning. A masque is just to hold moisture in the hair. A deep conditioner has the conditioning properties. If you'd like a great cheap conditioner, I would recommend picking up a packet of Hask Keratin Protein Smoothing Deep Conditioner at Walmart. Don't be scared of the protein, I didn't find the protein did much for me personally, but it was excellent as a general deep conditioner.
    2c-3a - med-coarse - normal-high porosity - high density
    :bunny:
    NP/LP: CJ Daily Fix, KMF Whenever / Giovanni TTTT
    RO/LI: Aussie Moist, CJ Argan & Olive Oil, Hask Keratin Protein
    DC/PROTEIN: KC Stellar Strands / CNPF
    STYLER: CJ Curl Queen