What IS water soluble?

ElsaofWIElsaofWI Posts: 4Registered Users
Hello, I have found this website very helpful with my curly hair dilemmas. This is my first time posting to the forum, please forgive me if this topic has already been discussed.

I eliminated all silicones in my life in January. Since then, I have been experiencing an alarming amount of hair shedding/breakage... to the point where I went to my doctor and had blood work done to be sure something wasn't medically wrong with me. I've come to the conclusion that silicones were the only thing holding my hair together! So, my question is this:

I know silicones are bad because they are water insoluble (except for, of course, the water soluble ones :), and being so they prevent moisture from being able to penetrate your hair, and can cause buildup. I've been doing some research on natural hair moisturizers, and most of them, while not silicones, seem to be things that also are not water soluble. Coconut oil, Jojoba oil, avocado oil, sheabutter... if these things aren't water soluble, how are they any different from silicones?

I guess I just need some help understanding which things are technically “moisturizers” and not sealants, and which “sealants” are safe to seal in the moisture, but not cause the bad things silicones cause.

Thank you so much!

Oh, and by the way, I am somewhere around a 2C, low porosity hair, and at this point about the only thing my hair can tolerate is water

Comments

• sixelamysixelamy Posts: 4,157Registered Users Curl Novice
    I have the same issue, when I use silicones my hair doesn't fall out as much. Nobody on this board believes me, so glad to see I'm not the only one!