Introducing myself and my identity crisis ridden hair (long post)

CopperCrownCopperCrown Posts: 84Registered Users
First off, hello! I'm relatively new to the site, and the CG method, although I had done some initial research last summer.

Growing up I thought my hair was straight but frizzy, In highschool I'd try to get it to wave with very limited success. It's still pretty fine (although a little less so now that I color it), but seems to get wavier with time. I have always been able to wear it straight in the summer when I wanted to, even if it was a bit frizzy.

Until I moved down south, to a very humid valley in the middle of the summer, and the only thing I could do with it was put it all back. Trying to wear it wavy/curly resulted in the wave falling out and frizz going everywhere. Trying to wear it straight resulted in ugly waves coming in and again, frizz everywhere (no amount of smoothing products could tame this mane).

So last summer I started learning about the CG method, but I was overwhelmed by all the chemistry and hair typing. I'd already been using sulfate free shampoo (the loreal lines) because I color my hair (depositing not stripping), but I still used styling products that had who knows what in them (except the shampoo was always able to break down whatever I was using because I didn't get buildup). I had a little bit of success, but my waves were very stringy. Some pieces started to spiral, but it refused to clump. I called them stringlets. It was still very frizzy and I looked a little bit homeless without a lot of extra styling.

In the fall/winter I can do whatever I want to my hair and it mostly behaves. I would wear it wavy, but I always had to go over my canopy and back under layers with a small curling iron (with heat protector). It looks good that way, even if it's still a bit stringlet-y. But I can't even get away with that in the summer well.