Unable to get Deva cut due to allergies… what to do?

naturecatnaturecat Posts: 1,986Registered Users Curl Neophyte
I called a local salon that does Deva cuts. One stylist gets rave reviews but isn't taking new clients at the moment. There is another stylist there that is also deva trained. There is a catch; this stylist will only use Deva products. I cannot because I am allergic to chemical fragrances. They won't let you bring your own products, as they do a dry cut, then wash/style and cut again after drying (and will only style with deva products). I got another name of a salon I could try but was unable to get an appointment there either. I don't know of anywhere else that does curly cuts. I desperately need layers so I don't get all those gaps in my hair. I was thinking of trying to cut my own hair but I have no experience and don't even know whether to cut bluntly or angle the scissors or where in the curl to cut (I see conflicting accounts). I also am afraid to give myself layers with no experience. Does a curly cut necessitate using deva products? If it does I will never be able to get a curly cut, but I feel I need one for my hair to look acceptable. Any advice?

3A/f/i
Super baby fine hair, low porosity
Shampoos: SM Fruit Fusion (mostly), Avalon lemon (to clarify). Occasional aloe vera and glycerin to wash.
Stylers: Intelligent Nutrients Perfect Hold Hairspray
Treatments: Catnip tea, IA girl's PT, Fermented Rice Water, Catnip Tea, Amla tea, Irish Moss, SS PT

Comments

• claudine191claudine191 Posts: 8,221Registered Users Curl Connoisseur