Shea Moisture-Low Porosity?

GirlyThatsCurlyGirlyThatsCurly Registered Users Posts: 27 Curl Neophyte
Hi fellow curlies!

This is my first post to CurlTalk and I was hoping someone could help me out! I have fine, 3A, low porosity, low-medium density, mid back length hair. I have been using the curly girl method for almost 8 months now. I would provide more info about my hair but I'm hoping this will be enough to answer my question. I used Shea Moisture 10-1 Renewal Conditioner for the first time last night (trying to switch from DC One Condition) and stupid me realized after I used it that there is shea butter and coconut oil in the conditioner! :-|

Anyways, my question is will this conditioner provide buildup in fine, low porosity hair? Also, are the ingredients water soluble or can I use a low-poo with coco betaine (such as DevaCurl Low Poo) to remove it? Or do I need to use a stronger clarifying shampoo? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated since I am still experimenting with products!! I'm just trying to avoid potential of buildup since I despise anything that weighs my fine hair down!!

And...I know I know that I don't have a signature or picture yet! I'm working on it !!
3a- Bits of 3b, fine, mid-back length, low porosity, low-medium density.
Co-Wash: DevaCurl No Poo
Condition: ??
Leave-In: Currently looking for a glycerin-free one!
Style: Pantene Pro-V Curl Sculpting Gel
PT: Curl Junkie Repair Me
Low-Poo: Living Proof Full

Loves: Protein!!
Dislikes: Heavy oils, heavy leave-ins, waxes, (anything that weighs my fine hair down!), glycerin in high dew points
ALLERGIC: Aloe Vera :-(

Comments

• NvmbrCurlssNvmbrCurlss Registered Users Posts: 732 Curl Neophyte
    It will likely buildup. A low poo OR cowash could be enough, but you will have to give it a shot to see what your hair likes. My fine hair can only handle sheamoisture in tiny amounts.

3B, Fine, Med D, Normal P & E

NoP: Giovanni 50/50
    RO/LI: DevaOneCondition
    Styler: DevaLight Gel