New Curly with Questions :)

shellebrowniesshellebrownies Posts: 1Registered Users
Hello! :blob4:

I want to preface this by saying that I am very new to having curly hair. I literally had Jamie Lee Curtis style short straight hair for 25 years. Recently I decided to grow it out and discovered that I had some curl, although it was very frizzy.

By visiting this site, I was able to determine that I was using all the wrong things on my hair (protein conditioner when I should have been using moisturizing conditioner, brushing out the curls, etc), so I went to the salon and had a clarifying treatment and layers cut in. What I discovered after that was that I was way more curly than I imagined: 2c, with curls that start right from the scalp. The hairdresser said my hair was coarse, but that it was medium porosity and medium density.

I bought the Paul Mitchell Curls line products from the hairdressers to start out with but have already picked up some As I Am Coconut Co-Wash after seeing it mentioned several times on here.

Having been a wash-and-go gal for so long, the idea of product is a bit daunting and confusing. What I have been using is either the As I Am or the Paul Mitchell Shampoo (sulfate free), the Paul Mitchell wash out conditioner, a Paul Mitchell leave in conditioner and then their Twirl Around Curl Definer.

I have tried both plopping, which seems to flatten the curls at the top of my head, and diffusing, which seems to add frizz. My curls don't clump all that well, and while it does seem to stay mostly curly, it has that "wet" look that I really don't want.

I did get a DevaCurl hair towel and used it today. I can't say that I have noticed any real difference from drying with a t shirt... (shrugs)

I really like the idea of going natural curls, but am at a loss as to how to improve what I am doing.