Asian girl on a track of transition

jayleenjayleen Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi there
I'm a newbie and so glad to find this web.
I was born and raised in korea. Also, For about my ethnicity, I'm fully korean. But suprisingly I have naturally curly hair.
I decided to have a jorney of transition. It's been already 7 months since my last straight perm. And In fact, this is the 2nd jorney. On 1st one, i failed and gave up because i didn't know how to style and wear my crazy afro after BC. (Back then, I had no idea what i had done. I just cut off my relaxed damaged hair)

So ,on this new track, I want to take a long jorney learning how to treat my hair. But It's getting tricky to style 2types of hair- relaxed and my natural hair- at the same time.
Any recommendation about
1. how to style 2 types of hair?
2. products - i have no any idea about curly hair products because in korea we don't have any :(
and I want to hear experiences of asian curlies about hair transition, as well.

Thank you in advance and sorry if i made some mistakes in the writing.

Comments

• BotticelliBritBotticelliBrit Registered Users Posts: 2,075 Curl Neophyte
    jayleen wrote: »
    1. how to style 2 types of hair?
    2. products - i have no any idea about curly hair products because in korea we don't have any :(
    and I want to hear experiences of asian curlies about hair transition, as well.

Hello!

Okay, so what helped me when I was transitioning was when my hair was wet I'd put leave-in conditioner in and some sort of gel or styler and then braid my hair into two pigtails. Then when it was dry I'd take it out and I'd have waves that matched my roots.

Every night I'd re-wet it with leave-in and then braid it again so it looked nice for the next morning.

That's basically how I styled my hair the whole time I was transitioning so that I didn't use straighteners and damage my new healthy curl growth.