Confused about how CG works, how hair actually gets clean without build up...

marybravemarybrave Registered Users Posts: 34
Hi there I'm new to CO washing....

I'm confused how co washing with conditioners that have things like oils/butters in them cleans the hair and keeps products from building up. Wouldn't every time you apply a Condish and rinse away without shampoo, a build up would be created?

I'm also wondering how girls say they are "no poo" but yet use a sulfate shampoo (that lathers) every once in a while. How does that mean you're CG if you still techniqually wash your hair?
Low-med porosity/ medium texture/ dense

Poo: Castile soap (diluted of course)
RO:natural conditioners made in BC
LI: Giovanni direct LI
DT: blend of oils
Styler: none

seal with jojoba/coconut oil, ACV rinses

Comments

• hookilauhookilau Registered Users Posts: 269
    I wondered the same thing too. I fell into the no poo thing because I started co-washing & figured I'd poo when I felt the need to. My hair does better with humectants and not so much with oils & butters.

No poo went so well, the need just never arose. After about a month later, I figured why start now when it's going so well?

I think girls who use conditioners with oils, low poo or regular sulfate poo when they feel it's necessary.

Hair and scalp can act crazy when buildup is present & nobody likes that kind of drama :laughing7:

Just do whatever works & see where you fall. I didn't start off planning to be a non-poo'er, that's just how it happened to work out.
    Following CG
    fine, medium-low density :confused5:
    protein loving, porous, elasticity ?

Co-wash: Tresemme Perfectly Undone
    LI/RO: GVP Conditioning Balm, Jane Carter Solutions Nutrient Replenishing Conditioner
    Stylers: KCCC, AG recoil, CurlKeeper, As I am curling pudding
    Protein treatments: Aphogee's Keratin 2 minute reconstructor, and Colorful neutral protein filler

Loves: aloe, glycerin & polyquats even in neg dews
    :happy3: