Newbie To Site And Needs Help

SuzybgirlSuzybgirl Posts: 13Registered Users
Hi everyone. I'm new to the naturallycurly site and I find it fantastic. I've been curly since I was 14 (I'm now 45) and have discovered (from your site) that I've been using the wrong products all my life. I'm Irish, of mixed culture (Irish/Jamaican) and live in Greece. Living in Greece (actually the Island of Zante) poses a big problem, there are no products for my hair here so I was ordering on line from the UK. I'm currently (2 wks now) experimenting with the Shea line products (curl & shine shampoo, restorative conditioner, deep treatment masque, curl enhancing smoothie & curling gel souffle) and I'm not really liking them. The shampoo is gorgeous, the conditioner is ok, the deep treatment masque is ok, the curling gel souffle is horrible and the curl enhancing smoothie is I think, to thick for my hair. I did a co-wash with the conditioner but this left my hair heavy and with a lot of build up. I used Soft-n-free curl activator (as a styler) all my life and loved the way it made my curls full & bouncy, not sticky and kept them separated/loose and shiny. I'm currently looking for a similar styler (with less harsh ingredients) to have the same effect. I know the best way to find the best products is by trial and error however, because I have to order them on line and have them delivered, this can prove very costly. I've seen hundreds of products on line and I'm a bit overwhelmed as I just don't know what's best for my hair. I would really really appreciate some advice with any products from washing/co-washing, conditioning to the finishing styler. Thanks in advance and it's a pleasure to be part of the naturallycurly community.ps. I'm currently growing out a Kinetics-a perm. I think I'm a 3a x.
3a Type Curls High Porosity Medium Texture
Mixed Culture Hair: Irish/Jamacian
Clarify monthly with baking soda/ACV rinse
Co-wash: SM Co-wash Conditioning Cleanser
Shampoo: SM Curl & Shine