The Struggle for Employment

MidwesterncurlMidwesterncurl Registered Users Posts: 133 Curl Neophyte
I wanted to write this post to give hope for anyone who's been struggling at a job or to find a job.

A couple years ago, I had written a post about the difficulties with interviewing and getting a job. Since then I graduated from school and am now working in a new career! It took a lot of hard work and dedication. I volunteered my time, networked with people, and educated myself as much as I could about the industry. After graduation, I remained positive job-hunting even though it was very, very hard. It's easy to get discouraged.

It was possible but I had to overcome a few hurdles. One of the biggest hurdles I experienced was being told by people I needed to drastically lower my standards and just take anything. I wasn't in the desperate category (or close), but there is the idea if you are unemployed or job-seeking, if you aren't desperate you're just not doing it right.

I can recall during a job convention a woman there told me to just set aside the skills I learned during my education and volunteer time and go a different route. In her mind, I should just get any old job and then after employment, attempt to break into my field of choice. She and I ended up arguing a bit, lol. No matter how many times I explained to her my volunteer experience was already "any old job," her attitude was one of condescension and dismissal. No wonder the long-term unemployed get depressed! Nobody wants to be treated that way!

Luckily, I ended up meeting a manager for a different company who encouraged me to think differently. She said if getting into the field of my choice was truly important, to continue to go for it. She said I had the right skills and experience, and there was no reason I should think otherwise and settle for a job out in left field. I was lucky to have met her that day. Job conventions, fairs, and open houses can be depressing :(