Help?! A curly girl on the autism spectrum

sarah.d.kahnsarah.d.kahn Posts: 5Registered Users Curl Neophyte
Hi. I'm brand new to this. I've been struggling with super curly hair for the last 25 years and have let my mother and sister push me into getting a brazilian blowout and relaxer and straightened, etc. It would take me 4 hours to straighten my hair before it was relaxed. But now I have decided I miss the curls and I want to go back. My mother and sister are not helpful in the slightest and I need a curly girl mentor. My scalp gets greasy really fast, (like enough that I have to shampoo every day, if not every other day), but my hair is splitting and I have no idea how much shedding is normal. I have super thick hair too, like thick enough that if I get the top layer wet, the bottom stays dry and if I braid it while its wet, I actually get mold. Several times I've been close to just shaving my head but I don't really want to do that. When I use product my hair ends up crunchy and I have to wash it the next day. If I don't use product, it ends up frizzy and unmanageable, so it usually stays in a bun or a braid 99% of the time. I'm new, like really new and have tried a lot of different stuff to keep my hair manageable. Because I'm on the autism spectrum, my parents and sister treat me like I can't take care of myself and don't explain themselves. I don't know any of the lingo. I need a curly girl mentor. Help?!!

Comments

• rbbrbb Posts: 4,355Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    your hair is beautiful!
    being on the spectrum has nothing to do with IQ, understanding things. you are certainly able to read about curly hair and decide for yourself how you want to care for your hair.
    have you ever read the book, The Curly Girl, by Lorraine Massey (2nd edition, 2009)? it is filled with info for beginners and is a fun read. maybe even your mom would read it. you can get it on amazon, or download it, or the library. it is under $10.