Recommendations for coarse and porous?

curlicarlycurlicarly Registered Users Posts: 242 Curl Connoisseur
Hi! I got my analysis back from Goosefootprints, and it turns out my hair is coarse (not surprised) and highly porous at the ends. At the roots it has low porosity, and the middle is normal porosity. This seems like a difficult combination of properties, so I'm looking for guidance.

What conditioners and other products have worked for you? I reallllyy need a relatively inexpensive conditioner because I can go through a bottle in a couple weeks, and as a college student, I cannot afford to spend upwards of $50 on my hair a month.

I realize the ends of my hair probably need some sort of protein, so recommendations for that would be appreciated as well. Thanks!
3b/c coarse, porous (I think), and THICK! Mod CG since: 10/11/08
Avoiding humectants and protein!

Comments

• GreatcurlsGreatcurls Registered Users Posts: 1,784 Curl Connoisseur
    I like Herbal Essences The Sleeker the Butter Smoothing conditioner. It has lots of slip and softens the hair. Concerning protein, the Protein Filler from Sally's has good reviews.
    Mod CG-Naturally Highly Porous and Dry
     *This list is not exhaustive...
    CoWash: various
    DT: various
    Leave-in: 100% Mafura butter, Shima Hair Leave-in 
    Stylers: MoroccanOil Curl Defining Cream, various
    Spritz/Sealant:not now
    *experimenting and loving it!
  • rbbrbb Registered Users Posts: 4,355 Curl Connoisseur
    be careful with protein on coarse hair -- it is mostly protein, so adding more can make it like straw. not to say a little protein in other products isn't good, but go slowly and easy if you are doing a protein treatment, like maybe leave it on for a shorter time??? does she recommend protein treatments on her analysis? if so, then do it.