Is achieving clumps AND volume impossible?

frcklsfrckls Posts: 528Registered Users Curl Neophyte
I have medium-fine, low porosity, low density, 2c hair. I'm new to CG and still experimenting, but I've found out how hard it is to achieve both nice clumping and volume.

The best method I find best for gorgeous clumps thus far is squish-to-condish with some passionate scrunching, low-plop, minimum raking and little-to-none brushing. But my top lays flat to my head.

I tried vertical squishing and I got stringy hair. The same happened when I incorporated brush or rake my hair more than usual. Plopping got me a bit of volume on my crown, but it makes my curls stringy-looking and I ended up with scalps showing on my crown, unless I fluff more and I'd end up with beach-hair (which is nice when I want to have my hair looks like it). I tried flipping my head but flipping-back destroys the clumps. Clipping with small jaw clamps doesn't help much either.

Seriously, does THE method to get nice clumps and volume even exist for wavy, thin-haired girls?? :sad5:
2B/C canopy & 2A/B underlayer
coarse | low-normal porosity | normal elasticity | low-med density
(by GoosefootPrints)

Clarify: Suave Daily Clarifying Shampoo, Citric acid rinse
RO/LI: Jason Moisturizing 84% Aloe Vera / Paul Mitchell The Conditioner
Styler: DIY Okra Jelly / Paul Mitchell Thicken Up / Shu Uemura Cotton Uzu Flexible Defining Cream
Treatment: H&B Wonder Oil + VCO, Honey-Cardamom-EVOO-Chamomile

Comments

• geekrockgirl85geekrockgirl85 Posts: 170Registered Users
    I have not had very good luck with wash day volume, although the clips do help me more. Honestly the best I can hope for, like my avvie, is for second or third day hair to emerge from the pineapple without needing much extra spritzing and product. I think my cat teases my hair in my sleep, though, so maybe that's helping! lol