Can hair DNA change?

gardencurlsgardencurls Posts: 573Registered Users
I thought we have the same DNA programming our entire lives, so I'm really confused about my hair.

My natural hair type is 3b "corkscrews" (my hair spirals more and more the longer it gets). Some sections behave like 3c hair, especially in humid climates.

I've been covering my emerging gray hairs for many years, with demi-permanent coloring. Sometimes the grays didn't cover completely, but I had enough regular color to make them relatively invisible. They were "silvery" gray.

The last couple of months my grays have been growing in like gangbusters, but they are nothing like the grays I've seen emerge over the years. The new hairs and more "white" and they don't "curl", but tightly zig-zag in uneven patterns. They don't want to follow they're curl "families", but each hair sticks out in different ways. I can deal with the different curl pattern, eventually, but at this point these gray hairs will not take hair color! I've tried demi-permanent, and permanents with 10, 20, and 30 volume developer. With stronger developer I do get a little better gray coverage, but on quite a few of the hairs, the coloring washes out as if it I'd used temporary hair color. My hair is also growing in really thick since BC 3 years ago (some of the hairs on the crown of my head were about 1" long). Since I hadn't known my real texture for over 25 years prior to that, I wasn't sure what to expect, but my grays kept with the program until recently.

Is this normal? Should I tell my doctor? I don't know if gray hair usually misbehaves or if my hair is trying to tell me something about my health.
If it's normal, I'll just start hanging around the 4b/c board and plan for some fun new hairstyles.
3b/c, Coarse, Low Porosity, Desert Climate
CG since August 2011/Occasionally Minimally Modified since 2013