Maybe I'm almost there

susankempsusankemp Posts: 4Registered Users
Hi girls,

I've never posted on here.

I think I'm 2c/3a (I'm leaning toward 2C). I can maybe show you pictures through PM but apparently I can't images here since I am new.

I have been doing No poo for 2 years and I only use a wide-tooth comb, but to be honest it still doesn't look great. I used to have a great curly hair hair stylist, but I moved. I never diagnosed my hair type before and now that I am learning toward 2C I think a lot of things make sense.

I think my problem actually isn't any form of torture through silicones, heat etc. but in that I suck at conditioning? Is that a thing? Like the only time I have good hair days is if I force myself to condition for like 5 minutes. I guess usually I get bored before then. And then I have a cream and a gel, and without these products things just get poofy. When the wave/curls (this is why I think I'm 2C, I definitely have some curls), seem to be hydrated enough they look great.

Are there any tips for conditioning? Is that silly? I feel like I'm doing it wrong all my life. Because literally it will only look good if i squeeze some rub it into one spot, squeeze some more rub it into another spot, until I've used like 15 pumps at least. Or maybe what I really need is a leave in conditioner and my excessive conditioning is actually just compensating for how I need something to be left in? Do you have any recommendations for leave in conditioners?

Also, how do you add volume? My stylist would kind of rub parts of my scalp when it was 90% dry and it would just perk my hair right up. I feel like sometimes when I do it doesn't always help.